The day I was caught

Met police AGY #3_Flickr by kenjonbro

It was a day like any other day … actually, it was Valentine’s Day, and I was waiting to meet up with someone special in Neasden. Just then, two police officers approached me and asked me about my identity and asked to see my ID card. They searched my pockets and I took out my wallet and cards. They were polite to me and everything seemed fine until they checked my name on a small machine like a card payment machine, connected to their system. Then things changed and they told me that you must go with us to police station for your immigration matter. At that point I was really scared and I didn’t know what was going to happen to me.

Wembley Police Station_Flickr by 2E0MCA

I went with them to the police station and it was all new for me because I have never been in police custody before.  I had to wait for 2 hours in the police car outside because they said the police station was busy. They were so horrible to me then. I was crying because I was in such a bad situation, but the police officers were laughing and joking at me and they said ‘what are you doing here? Why don’t you go back to your country and join your army? It’s the end of your life here.’

They searched me in the police station and took off all my clothes except my underwear. Then they gave me some paper clothes to wear. I asked them to give me my own clothes to wear, but they said no. I was worried that I looked like a criminal!

Then I was waiting there for about 35 hours to meet an immigration officer. I was in a small prison room and I was crying and shouting and hurting myself because I thought they would sent me straight back to Afghanistan that day. They didn’t help me with anything because I asked them for a blanket but they didn’t give me one because they were thinking that I would do something with it, but what can I do with a blanket in that small room? And I didn’t eat anything except water.

I contacted my friend in a very difficult way because they took every thing from me and I was asking them to allow me to call somebody to let them know that I’m in the police station. They told me I had to wait because there is a queue and I only called my friend after one and a half days.

There was only one nice lady there. My friend contacted her and told her I was in trouble. She is a police woman, so she came to the station and she told me, “don’t worry, everything will be fine.” She was the only person who was nice to me.

I felt like I was in a coffin. It was such a bad situation, I felt like God had put me in hell that day.

It was night time when they brought me to the Immigration Removal Centre. The first people I spoke to were some officers from the detention centre. They told me that we will send you back Afghanistan. I tried to speak to them about my situation and they told me talk to your solicitor about this. But I didn’t have a solicitor at that time.  They searched me and took away all my things. They didn’t give me any information about the detention centre’s rules and I just found it out by myself.



This entry was posted in story and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The day I was caught

  1. John says:

    There are so many stories like this but not many of them been heard by anyone. Shame the governement aren’t looking at issues like this and sending them teen ages who has no hope of continue living in Harsh Afghanistan.

  2. Suzanne Fletcher says:

    when I started reading it, I thought it was about an arrest in a country that the person had fled from, not our “civilised” country.

  3. Janet King says:

    This is shocking and should be debated in Parliament and publicly in the media.It is high time somebody stood up for immigrants and told HMG that a civilised country does not treat even its non-citizens like this.

Leave a Reply

